Presentation on OpenID, SAML and Authentication

This past Monday I gave a presentation as part of the Identity Management track at the first Virginia Security Summit in Richmond, VA. The audience here was a mixture of Virginia state & local technology decision makers (CIO / CTO) and implementers. This included local government, education and transportation representatives.

The session description was rather broad.

A comprehensive security plan has to start with user authentication. It is not an easy task when the range of users is constantly growing and shifting, as are potential threats. Using just one tactic is not enough – it takes a combination of technologies and procedures. This session looks at the latest technologies and approaches as well as their strengths and shortcomings.

So, I decided to give a primer on the Security Assertion Markup Language (SAML) and OpenID single sign on standards. At the beginning of the presentation I took a poll of the crowd and found that about one quarter of those in attendance (~50 people) knew something about each of these standards.

In addition to comparing and contrasting SAML and OpenID, I also talked about several strong authentication options available for each of these SSO standards. I basically wanted to convey that there are better options then making users (citizens) create yet another username & password, and various strong authentication technologies can be used with both OpenID & SAML.

One resource online that really helped me frame some ideas was the Overlap of identity technologies article published on the Google OAuth & Federated Login Research site. This is an excellent summary authored by Eric Sachs, Ashish Jain, Paul Madsen. Thanks, guys.

I’m going to be giving a similar, but more authentication focused talk at CTST in New Orleans next Tuesday, May 5. Track D: Emerging Technology, D14: Smart Cards, Tokens & Digital Identity, 4:00 PM – 5:30 PM. Hope to catch some of you out there.

23 responses to “Presentation on OpenID, SAML and Authentication

  1. Pingback: Emerging Technology Presentation from CTST « Digital Trust

  2. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words
    in your content seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem
    solved soon. Kudos

  3. Are you always in a rush to straighten your hair or do you have to let it air dry.
    Shine is so hard to maintain when using styling tools but the
    Instyler holds true to its word in that it does
    not dry out your hair and it look as healthy as hair untouched by styling tools.
    In other words, hair is frizzy because it is “thirsty”.
    I have taken the liberty of compiling several reviews fromall around the Internet so you can have a panoramic view of user feedback ofthe Instyler.

  4. Overall, the Kodak Zi8 HD Pocket Video Camera is by far the best
    pocket camcorder on the market especially if
    you’re looking for 1080p video capture. Below the lens is a stereo microphone, which is well placed and unlikely to pick up all the noise from your hands scraping the camcorder. Further, once you select the clip that you want to upload, you may have to wait a long time to upload your video. However, when you must shoot video footage in a less than forgiving environment, a dedicated video camcorder is required.

  5. Hello this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors
    or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  6. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so
    I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  7. For unmarried use, you are able to select to
    buy the coffee maker that will afin de coffee definitely one cup at
    just a period, whilst keeping the coffee maker chock-full of
    coffee, and additionally retaining the newness up until the very final cup.
    What Exactly Is the ideal drink of coffee minus the ideal coffee maker?
    When your take the efforts to pick out the finest high quality of coffee beans, discover your chosen roast, and
    find the most perfect blends, you will want to uncover the coffee maker that will .

  8. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog is in
    the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thank you!

  9. You should take part in a contest for one of the best sites on the web.

    I will recommend this blog!

  10. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your website?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for
    only having one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  11. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

  12. Hi! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent work!

  13. You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation but I to find this topic to be actually something that I believe I’d by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and very broad for me. I’m
    looking forward on your subsequent submit, I will
    try to get the dangle of it!

  14. The Graveyard Book von Neil Gaiman Little Brother
    von Cory Doctorow [Download] Saturn’s Children von Charles Stross Zoe’s Tale von John

  15. It’s an amazing post in favor of all the web viewers; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  16. Hi folks, im something of a home decorator addict. Howse it going?
    I had been looking at this write-up and I absolutely cherished it.

    It has a handful of significantly nice insights for me to absorb.
    I have got to express, I’ve become unhappy currently due to the fact my best friend is not with me. Web browsing the on-line world provides me with a little bit of piece of mind though. I’d personally like to give thanks to you because of this
    wonderful internet based blog which inturn will help circulate the
    word relating to home decorators even more!
    I actually was wanting to know if you provide an email subscriber list so I can remember to keep up-to-date
    on this page.

  17. Whats up people, im a kitchen junkie. So, I ended up discovering
    this article and so I definitely liked it. It has got numerous sincerely nice tips for me to soak
    up. I have got to say, I’ve become depressed fairly recently because my best friend no longer is with me. Looking at the web gives me a little piece of mind though. I would love to say thanks to you just for this brilliant web-site post that helps extend the message about kitchen gear even more! I actually was thinking about if you currently have rss subscriber list in order to always keep current here.

  18. fifa points gratuit pc

    I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of
    clever work and coverage! Keep up the wonderful works
    guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  19. Hello I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by accident, while
    I was searching oon Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for
    a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time tto go
    through it all at the minute butt I have book-marked it and also added in your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read mmuch more, Please do keep up tthe fantastic jo.

  20. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based on the same information you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my audience would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  21. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He used to be entirely right.
    This publish truly made my day. You cann’t consider simply how so
    much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  22. Hello friends, pleasant paragraph and fastidious arguments commented here,
    I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  23. If you wish for to improve your experience just keep visiting this web site and be updated with the newest
    information posted here.

Leave a Reply

